Primary 5a

Tom_Paton

Mr Tom Paton

Email Mr Paton here

P5 Literacy- Fri 26th June

P5 Maths- Fri 26th June

 

P5 Literacy- Thurs 25th June

P5 Maths- Thurs 25th June

 

P5 Literacy- Wed 24th June

P5 Maths- Wed 24th June

 

P5-Virtual Trip to Edinburgh Zoo Trip Day-Tues 23rd June

P5 Joining a Teams call- Tues 23rd June

 

P5 Literacy Starter Activity- Mon 22nd June

P5 Literacy- Mon 22nd June

P5 Maths- Mon 22nd June

P5 Weekly Home Learning Grid- WB 22nd June

 

P5 Literacy- Fri 19th June

P5 Virtual Edinburgh Zoo Trip Prep 2- Fri 19th June

 

P5 Literacy- Thurs 18th June

P5 Maths Powerpoint- Thurs 18th June

P5 Maths Powerpoint PDF- Thurs 18th June

 

P5 Literacy Mild- Wed 17th June

P5 Literacy Spicy- Wed 17th June

P5 Literacy Hot -Wed 17th June

P5 Maths Wed 17th June

P5 Maths PDF Wed 17th June

 

P5 Maths PDF Tuesday 16th June

P5 Maths Tuesday 16th June

P5 Virtual Zoo Trip – Prep 1- Tues 16th June

 

P5 Literacy-Monday 15th June

P5 Maths-Monday 15th June

P5 Maths PDF-Monday 15th June

P5 Weekly Home Learning Grid- WB 15th June

 

Please see below the etiquette and questions for P5 Group Calls starting WB 15th June. Mr Paton will send out your timeslot to you via email, and post reminders on Teams if necessary.

Teams Etiquette and Questions

 

P5 Maths- Fri 12th June

P5 Literacy- Fri 12th June

 

P5 Literacy- Thurs 11th June

P5 Maths Teaching Video Link and Instructions- Thurs 11th June

P5 Maths Task Powerpoint- Thurs 11th June

P5 Maths Task Powerpoint PDF- Thurs 11th June

P5 Maths Planning Page- Thurs 11th June

 

P5 Maths Assessment- Wed 10th June

 

P5 Literacy- Tues 9th June

P5 Maths- Tues 9th June

 

P5 Literacy Monday 8th June

P5 Weekly Home Learning Grid WB 8th June

 

Here are the latest videos from Miss Clark for those pupils she was helping out with some Maths support-

 

P5 Literacy- Fri 5th June

P5 Maths- Fri 5th June

 

P5 Literacy- Thurs 4th June

P5 Maths- Thurs 4th June

 

P5 Literacy Assessment- Wed 3rd June

P5 Maths Assessment- Wed 3rd June

 

P5 Maths- Tues 2nd June

P5 Literacy- Tues 2nd June

 

P5 Literacy Monday 1st June

P5 Weekly Home Learning Grid- WB 1st June

 

P5 Literacy- Fri 29th May

P5 Maths- Fri 29th May

 

Here are the latest videos from Miss Clark for those pupils she was helping out with some Maths support-

 

P5 Maths- Thurs 28th May

P5 Literacy Task- Thurs 28th May

P5 Literacy Extension Task- Thurs 28th May

P5 Literacy Extension Task- PDF-Thurs 28th May

 

P5 Literacy Assessment- Wed 27th May

P5 Maths Assessment- Wed 27th May

 

P5 Weekly Home Learning Grid- WB 25th May

P5 Literacy Monday 25th May

 

P5 Literacy- Fri 22nd May

P5 Maths- Fri 22nd May

 

P5 Literacy- Thurs 21st May

P5 Maths- Thurs 21st May

 

Miss Clark has created these videos for children who she would see for support with Maths.

SEAL Chapter 8 Lesson 1

SEAL chapter 9 – lesson 1

 

P5 Literacy Assessment- Wed 20th May

P5 Maths Assessment- Wed 20th May

 

P5 Weekly Home Learning Grid- WB 19th May

P5 Literacy-Tuesday 19th May

 

P5 Literacy- Friday 15th May

P5 Maths- Friday 15th May

 

P5 Maths- Thurs 14th May

P5 Literacy- Thurs 14th May

P5 Useful Reading Resources- Thurs 14th May

 

P5 Maths Assessment – Wed 13th May

P5 Literacy- Helpful Tips- Wed 13th May

P5 Literacy Assessment Wed 13th May

 

P5 Literacy- Tues 12th May

P5 Maths- Tues 12th May

 

P5 Weekly Home Learning Grid- WB 11th May

 

P5 LIteracy- Assessment- Thurs 7th May

P5 Maths – Assessment- Thurs 7th May

 

P5 Literacy- Wed 6th May

 

P5 Literacy Powerpoint Tuesday 5th May

P5 Literacy Task Tuesday 5th May

P5 Maths Powerpoint-Tuesday 5th May

P5 Weekly Home Learning Grid WB 5th May

 

P5 Literacy Help Sheet- Friday 1st May

P5 Literacy Friday 1st May

P5 Maths Friday 1st May

 

P5 Literacy Mild- Thursday 30th April

P5 Literacy Spicy- Thursday 30th April

P5 Literacy Hot- Thursday 30th April

P5 Maths Thursday 30th April

 

P5 Literacy Wednesday 29th April

P5 Maths Wednesday 29th April

 

P5 Literacy Tuesday 28th April

P5 Maths Tuesday 28th April

 

P5 Weekly Home Learning Grid- WB 27th April

P5 Maths Monday 27th April

P5 Literacy Monday 27th April

 

P5 Literacy Help Sheet- Friday 24th April

P5 Literacy Task- Friday 24th April

P5 Maths Friday 24th April

 

P5 Maths Thur 23rd April

P5 Literacy Mild Thur 23rd April

P5 Literacy Spicy Thur 23rd April

P5 Literacy Hot Thur 23rd April

 

P5 Literacy Wed 22nd April

P5 Maths Wed 22nd April

 

P5 Weekly Home Learning Grid WB 20th April

P5 LiteracyTuesday 21st April

P5 Maths Tuesday 21st April

 

Boost Ideas for P3 to P7

 

Primary 5a had a visit from My Mental Health Rocks on Wednesday. We took part in some fun discussions and activities focusing on positive mental health and talked about strategies for improving our own well-being. We recognised that our thoughts are like a river and, throughout the day, we can try to focus on the happy ones. Being creative with the playdough was a particular favourite!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Primary 5a have been focusing on comparing and ordering fractions in maths this week. Activities have included recognising and ordering fractions with the same denominator, comparing fractions with different denominators, and working out tricky equivalent fractions. In particular, we had fun creating and using our ‘greater than’ and ‘less than’ crocodiles.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For Internet Safety week, P5a were learning about ways to stay safe online. They were designing new phones, with apps of top tips for staying safe.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

P5a have been writing descriptions of cartoon characters so that they can then write their own Viking character descriptions. Paired work is going very well!

P5 Newsletter Term 3

P5a have been learning about maps, mapping and grid references in the Our Community topic. A few weeks ago we went out into the playground to draw some chalk maps. Working with a partner, we described our journey to school and drew the keys features of the route. In the classroom, we looked at a couple of different maps and discussed the purpose of the scale, key and grid references. We then created our own bird’s-eye view map of the classroom and used this information to design a small treasure hunt with a partner.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Book Festival
During our first full week of term, P5 visited the Book Festival at Charlotte Square.
We met the author Thomas J. Clark, who has adapted the popular book ‘Diary of a Wimpy Kid’ for the Scots language: ‘Diary O A Wimpy Wean’. We had a fantastic time discovering new words in the Scots language, attempted to beat Thomas in a Scots language quiz, performed part of the story on stage, and had the opportunity to ask questions. He was great fun! The walk there and back was long, but we represented our school well and even kept our spirits up in the heavy rain!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Drummond P5
Last week we had a trip to the breakfast club at Drummond Community High School. In the morning we were met by three of the S6 leadership team, who helped us travel to and from the high school. The breakfast was delicious. We could have second helpings and some of us even had thirds! The S6 pupils were fantastic too. They took us, in small groups, on a treasure hunt around the school. We got to see the science classrooms and spoke to some of the other teachers and pupils.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

P5 Newsletter Term 1

P5 Meet The Teacher Presentation 2019